Design Week – Day 2 – Techniques

My favorite technique by far is the Magic Ring, but I also have 2 others and one that I just used on Fiona the Flamingo this week.
1 – TBC Clock Closure© is something that I use to close up the critter when stuffing. TBC Clock Closure© = I always feels it’s more secure to leave a long tail and use a very long (4-5” yarn needle) and I close the opening by going across the opening. Imagine your opening like the face of a clock…if your yarn ends @ 12, then reach across to 6, from 6 to 2, from 2 to 8, from 8 to 4, and from 4 to 10; pulling tight after each wave across. Weave in loose ends or TBC Unravel Finish©.
2 – TBC Unravel Finish© is what I use to give my trademark look of having some part of unraveled yarn on the finished critter. TBC Unravel Finish© = leave a tail of approx ¾ – 1’ long so you can “unravel” it. This can be at the top of the head for a tuft of hair, a little tuft on the end of his tail, etc. Depending on how many “plys” are in your yarn you can unravel between 2-5 times.
3 – The new technique that I used for the first time on Sunday was making the head, neck and body all one piece rather than attaching separate pieces all willy nilly. It actually made for a more structured and stable “critter”.

7 thoughts on “Design Week – Day 2 – Techniques

  1. Yes, this clock closure sounds amazing! Thank you so much for writing up your technique. I shall have to try it 🙂
    Fiona is starting to take shape! She’s looking great!

Leave a Reply

